You Really Are What You Eat!

Healthy living is a balance between fitness and nutrition, so this week I am focussing my blog on nutrition.

“You are what you eat.”

We’ve all heard the expression, but is it true?  I recently read an article in US News stating that indeed, we really are what we eat. So what does this mean for everyday living? Limit processed foods (they are often high in salt, sugar and fat) and focus on fruit, vegetables, whole grains, low and nonfat dairy, legumes, lean meats, and fish.

Need some tips? Watch the video for a few ideas on how to eat healthy – everyday!

Want more detail? Here is a typical day in the eating life of laurajane:

Breakfast: Oatmeal with a dollop of homemade applesauce, almonds (or walnuts) and cinnamon.

Morning Snack: Greek yogurt (tons of protein!) with blueberries and chia seeds.

Lunch: Two slices of spelt toast each with mashed avocado, tuna, tomato and pepper and a banana for dessert.

Afternoon Snack: 1-2 cups of raw veggies (colourful!) with hummus.

Dinner: Chicken fajitas with sauteed veggies, light cheddar cheese and salsa and 2 squares of dark chocolate for dessert.

Evening Snack: Rice cake with almond butter and honey or a small bowl of cottage cheese and fruit.

One last essential: water! I drink ~3 litres of water a day. It keeps me hydrated, feeling full and it’s great for your skin.

Do you have any healthy eating secrets? Please share!

7 thoughts on “You Really Are What You Eat!

    • Good for you Timea! I am a foodie, so sometimes it’s challenging to stay focused on my diet. I try to eat every 2-3 hours and make sure I always have healthy snacks on hand. I definitely indulge, but make an effort to be sure those indulgences are treats and not a part of my everyday habits. In the end, it feels so good to eat well and feel positive about your body….it makes saying no a wee bit easier!

  1. Great subject – I find that I often take chia seeds, hemp seeds and flax seeds and grind them in a coffee grinder, then put that in with the oatmeal as well for an extra kick!!! From a technical standpoint, I was fascinated that your products all showed up backwards, as if they were in a mirror. It makes me wonder how they do it differently at professional shoots – hadn’t realized that would be an issue. hmmm.

    • Great tip Susan, thank you! I’ve heard hemp seeds are really good for you and it’s something I’ve been meaning to incorporate into my diet.

      The mirror-image thing is weird and I had no idea how to fix it, so I just had to go with it. So much learning still to do 🙂

  2. Okay fine.. you won me over, I will start eating healthy this time! Great video! I love all of your tips and I might just add some of those items to my grocery shopping list!

Leave a Reply

