Hot, Wet, Dirty, Hard – I Digg It

Are we old enough for this?

Are we old enough for this?

In April, I found out I was six weeks pregnant. Unexpected, but very exciting. As I basked in the nauseating euphoria of my first trimester, I couldn’t help but feel a wee bit of disappointment. Spring had sprung, meaning training season as a Pacific Northwester had begun. However, this year, as I carefully incubated my offspring, I realized that my “training” would consist of leisurely laps in the pool, slow rides in the hood and gentle walks through the forest. Absent from my life would be intense swims, quad-killing hill rides, sweat-inducing stair climbs and oh so extreme trail runs.  For someone like me, the change in lifestyle was bittersweet.

About a month ago, I came across an amazing blog by a woman named Susan who subscribes to my mantra; Life.In Balance.Sort Of. So, so true!

I scrolled through her posts laughing at her dry humour and feeling inspired by her obviously determined approach to life. She’s a working professional, mom of two and an athlete (though she would probably never describe herself as one – she is). Three attributes I have an immense amount of respect for. As I’m chuckling and scrolling, I come across the title: Hot, Wet, Dirty, Hard. Did that get my attention? Um, yes. Four adjectives that, when strung together, are very intriguing. I read the post. I Digged the post.

Olympic Triathlon, 2011

Here’s why: She was describing her recent experience completing a gruelling race. During the race, she was hot, she was wet, she got dirty and it was hard. Wow, did I love living through her words! I could relate to the mixed bag of racing indignities and once again laughed and felt totally inspired. I won’t being be competing in any triathlons this year. My body has a much more important project in the works, but reading blogs like Susan’s, help me stay in the game.

Pregnancy is not an excuse for lethargy. Maintaining a healthy level of fitness has numerous pre and post-natal benefits (see 33 Reasons to Exercise Now), and at seven and a half months pregnant, I still enjoy being outdoors and getting my heart rate up. I do miss the physical intensity of training for a race, but reading about it will definitely do – for now.

My question to you is: With the rainy season upon us, what inspires you to still get out, get wet and get dirty?

10 thoughts on “Hot, Wet, Dirty, Hard – I Digg It

  1. This is such an inspiring post. Being fit and healthy is not a short term goal … it is a life long commitment and one that I find very difficult so hats of to you and to Susan for not just sitting around reading 50 shades of grey to come up with her title but for actually doing the mental and physical work for her to deserve the attention for this title. 🙂

  2. You are so right Timea! Susan is amazing. Though I will never have the discipline to achieve her level of athleticism, it is incredibly inspiring to read about women who are able to live the lifestyle she has chosen. So much of life is about choice and when we realize that, we truly tap into our power. Real women, not celebrities, are the people I look up to most.

  3. This really makes me want to go to the gym. I will be the first to admit, I AM SO UNHEALTHY! I don’t exercise, I eat whatever I want, and I enjoy being lazy. I was so amazed at how much you did post pregnancy and how much you are doing now! (Congrats by the way!!!)

    • Thank you for the congrats! We are pretty excited 🙂 Everyone has to do the things that make them happy, right? For me, I love being outside and being active. For you, it may be something different. But, if you’re looking for motivation to get to the gym, think of me with my big 7 1/2 month pregnant belly hiking though the trails – if I can do it, so can you!!

  4. Thanks for the shout out! And three cheers for all the amazing women out there committed to keeping fit and healthy in ways that make sense to them. Congrats on your pregnancy!

  5. My 15 month and 3 year old get me outside rain or shine. I am working hard on the concept of ‘family fitness’ which are times for us to enjoy exercise and the outdoors as a family. It’s challenging to all get the workout we need together right now but I am hoping that we will always embrace fitness as a family as the years go by.

    • Thanks for posting Susananna! As I embark on this new phase, I worry about whether I will be able to keep fit while working and raising a child. I love hearing from women who are finding balance amongst all the demands. Your idea of family fitness is definitely one I hope to incorporate into my life. It’s healthy and sets a wonderful example for children.

  6. Fitness, pre and post pregnancy are critical, and even more so as the children grow up. We have a society that is trending so quickly to inactivity, blogging instead of running, facebook updates instead of playing ball on the street, and lets not get started on online gaming instead of playing in the park with friends!! Congrats on staying fit and healthy and I just know you will be training again before you know it 🙂
    Susan

    • Thanks Susan! I completely agree with your comment about our techno-focused world. Children spend way too much time in front of computers and TVs. Inactivity coupled with poor eating habits creates a population that is unhealthy physically and emotionally. I really do believe that we have a responsibility as parents to set the right example in the environments we can control. I will do my best to provide a healthy, balanced home for my wee one 🙂

Leave a Reply

